Jewish Association of

Cultural Societies

Home

About JACS

JACS Branches

Social Events

Picture Gallery

JACS Journals

AGM

Karmiel Children's Village

Gants Hill Cultural Events

PROGRAMME FOR:  January - December  2018

Thursday 11th January 2018 Geoff Bowden - A welcome return - the Life of Irving Berlin

Thursday 18th January 2018 - Melvyn Eagle - Melvyn will talk about the Jewish East End

Thursday 25th January 2018 Ann Kaye - Her time at the Radio Times

Thursday 1st February 2018 -  Meryl Catty - The Newspaper Heritage exposed by Meryl

Thursday 8th February 2018 Kenny Charles - The wonderful entertainment of Kenny Charles

Thursday 15th February 2018 -  Jim Buttress - Returns and in his delightful manner talks about 'Britain in Bloom'

Thursday 22nd February 2018 Nick Dobson – The extraordinary Sherlock Holmes exposed by Nick

Thursday 1st March 2018 AGM - A truly entertaining afternoon!

Thursday 8th March 2018 Linda Styan - A new vocalist to our Group, who has been recommended

Thursday 15th March 2018 John Stokes - Reveals 'The life of Harold Pinter' with reference to his literary career.

Thursday 22nd March 2018 Roy Bass - Interesting facts of Classical Pianists who became 'pop stars'

Thursday 29th March 2018  -  CLOSED for PESACH            

****** WE ARE CLOSED FOR PESACH FROM 29th MARCH - RE OPEN 12th APRIL ******

Thursday 12th April 2018Nigel Coleman - The welcome return of Nigel who will be giving the fascinating story of David Niven

Thursday 19th April 2018 Sheila Billins - Completes her story of her nursing career

Thursday 26th April 2018 Marion Pettet - Chairman of the Chelmsford Ballet, gives an insight to the back stage world

Thursday 3rd May 2018 Maureen Gorb - 'Camping Out at Sea - mit yiddishkeit'. Does this bring back memories?

Thursday 10th May 2018 Ingrid Stellman - a Jewish Lip Reading Teacher and Deaf Awareness Trainer tells of her experiences

Thursday 17th May 2018 Gayatrie Anjula - Vocalist

Thursday 24th May 2018 Mike Rogers -  Mike raises money for charities in very unusual ways! (no appeal)

Thursday 31st May 2018 Jeff Page - 'Famous Women in the 20th Century'.

Thursday 7th June 2018 Kathrin Pieren - Kathrin is from the Jewish Museum and gives 'The History of Jews in 12 Objects!'

Thursday 14th June 2018 Draper & Hutt - a vocalist group from The Brick Lane Musical Hall. They are new to our group.

Thursday 21st June 2018 Russell Bowes - Russell offers you 'A Nice Cup of Tea'. History of tea and plantations.

Thursday 28th June 2018 Bronwen Stephens - a vocalist, offering entertainment from light opera and musical shows.

Thursday 5th July 2018 Richard Dodd - talks about 'Life on Radio and Television - not forgetting the blunders!'

Thursday 12th July 2018 Author Martin Sugarman - 'When the spirit of the Maccabees hovered over Whitechapel; The March of the Jewish Legion through the East End in 1918'.

Thursday 19th July 2018 A Murder Mystery Afternoon. - Ticket holders only; 12.30pm - 4pm.

Thursday 26th July 2018 Edwin Lucas - talks about and shows 'Prison Art'.

Thursday 2nd August 2018 A speaker from the Richard House Children's Hospice - 'the suffering, the satisfaction and the joy!'

Thursday 9th August 2018 Peter Maggs - Peter is an author of 'The Murder at the Red Barn' and will expand on the history and theory.

Thursday 16th August 2018 John Walters - Pearly King, offers his brand of entertainment and music.

Thursday 23rd August 2018 Eddi Summers - 'Jazz Beginnings', with tracks and the history involved.

Thursday 30th August 2018 Warren Grynberg - We follow the steps of Warren Grynberg's father 'From Losice to London'.

Thursday 6th September 2018 OLD TYME MUSIC HALL - JACS 40 Year Celebration. Ticket Holders Only.

****** WE ARE CLOSED FOR YOM TOV FROM 13th SEPTEMBER - RE OPEN 27th SEPTEMBER ******

Thursday 27th September 2018 Roy Blass - Welcome return of Roy - his musical entertainment of 'A-Z Las Vegas'.

Thursday 4th October 2018 Poetry Day - National Poetry Day will take place on 4th October - bring your favourite poem.

Thursday 11th October 2018 David Walters - Entertains us with the story and music of Rogers & Hammerstein.

Thursday 18th October 2018 Georgina Page - Repton Influence in Redbridge.

Thursday 25th October 2018 Sophia Levicki - Escape from Syria.

Thursday 1st November 2018 Nigel Coleman - Dirk Bogarde.

Thursday 8th November 2018 Rabbi Singer - Ask the Rabbi.

Thursday 15th November 2018 Susan Kikoler - The History of Italian Jews.

Thursday 22nd November 2018 Sue Page - Rural to Retail.

Thursday 29th November 2018 Alec Everett - Experiences/Anecdotes as a Fireman.

Thursday 6th December 2018 Ross - Chanukah Party.

Thursday 13th December 2018 Freddie Shaw - Whitechapel mayn Vaytshepl!

Thursday 20th December 2018 Nick Dobson - Around the World with Agatha Christie.


WE APOLOGISE FOR ANY CHANGES IN THE PROGRAMME DUE TO CIRCUMSTANCES BEYOND OUR CONTROL.

 
For further information please contact us on: info@jumpingjacs.org.uk

© Copyright - all rights reserved  -  The Secretary, JACS

This site was last updated 20/08/2018